Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Tub Tales.

with 3 comments

Mustaches Misses 2. Mustaches Misses 1.

One of my greatest joys as a mother is to watch my children play together.  Not play independently side-by-side but truly interactive play.  It has been unfolding over the past six months, and sometimes two-year-old CCS and five-year-old AJS are on different pages.  Every single night in the tub, they divide up a bevy of princess dolls amongst themselves.  Without fail, each night, a princess dialogue commences with AJS saying “friiiieeeeends, where are you?” Some nights it plays out better than others.  Here’s one of my particular favorites from the past week.

AJS: Friiiieeends, where are you?

CCS: Hi, Cinderella (pronounced Cinewewwa). How are you?

AJS: I’m fine. Put on your finest gown. We are going to have a princess party.

CCS: Hi, Cinderella.

AJS: There will be dancing and princesses and delicious food.

CCS: Hi, Cinderella. I wanna go to City Bites. (Have you noticed a theme? Please see Claire Speaks).

AJS: We will dance away the night to our favorite music.

CCS: I’m Princess Aurora (pronounced Awowa). I wanna pink donut.

AJS: with slight exasperation. I know you’re Princess Aurora. We don’t eat donuts or City Bites at balls.  It’s supposed to be fancy.

CCS: unphased. Hi Cinderella.

Poor Avery Jane.  She has not quite completed her indoctrination of Claire yet.  Give her time. Until then, I think there are going to be a lot of balls where City Bites is served.

Written by tortsandtots

January 9, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jamie,

    This post was HILARIOUS! You have to know how loud I laughed . . . and kept laughing! Thanks, I needed that!

    Jackie

    Jacqueline Brenner

    January 10, 2014 at 10:28 am

  2. How did I miss this one?!! I’m with CCS. I heart City Bites AND pink donuts.

    Brook

    April 14, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    • Maybe you’re Claire’s grown up BFF

      tortsandtots

      April 14, 2014 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

