Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Traveling Light.

with 4 comments

 

This weekend, I went on a girls’ weekend of sorts.  Really, every weekend in my life is a “girls’ weekend,” but is the little girls variety.  My typical girls weekend consists of chocolate chip pancakes, visits to the book store, and multiple readings of “Moo Moo, Who Are You?” (page-turner).  This past weekend, my girls weekend consisted of heading to South Carolina for one of my favorite friend’s wedding.  A weekend without children is not lost on me.  I spend very little time away from children on a day-to-day basis, much less entire weekends sans children.  Even the airport seemed shiny and new.  As I strolled through the airport with only a medium-sized purse on my shoulder, I was struck by the contrast to the travels-with-children me.  The last time I went to the airport, I had a stroller, a purse, a diaper bag, and a baby strapped to my chest.

The weekend was spent much the way you would imagine – copious amounts of laughter, catching-up, delicious food, and cocktails.  And, yes, even a bit of dancing.  There are certain friends that you don’t have to see very often (in this case, it had been years for a few of us), and you can still walk in and open up the friendship right where you left off.  There is something comforting about coming home to a group of friends that knew you when you were figuring out who you where.  This was the last wedding of this particular group of friends.  There is always something poignant about watching someone walk down the aisle, to a new chapter of her life, and remembering all the conversations and relationships of past that led to this point – the “I’m not sure how to make this relationship work” and the “I don’t know when my life will be ready for this.”   And then the best conversation of all occurs when the new guy walks in – the “I think he’s the one.”  There is also something poignant about stepping into your former self again for the weekend and realizing that this girl isn’t dead – she’s just buried beneath layers of children and children paraphernalia.

Cheers to my friend and her sweet new husband!  And cheers to my sweet friends who I never can get enough of.  We’re going to have to think up new excuses to get together because the weddings are officially over.

Written by tortsandtots

October 22, 2012 at 9:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love everything about these two pictures! What a sweet group of friends. I am so happy that you all got to spend time together for this special day.

    Sara

    October 22, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Thanks Sara. It was a fun weekend!

      tortsandtots

      November 5, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  2. Jamie: You couldn’t look more beautiful in the pics above, and especially in the one of you in the navy dress. I am one luck man. ~ Jerrod

    Jerrod

    October 29, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    • Thanks JRS. You are one luck man.

      tortsandtots

      November 5, 2012 at 1:59 pm


Leave a Reply

