Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

The Grass Is Always Greener (And Has Less Kid Stuff) . . .

leave a comment »

Before we had kids, I often found myself longing for the day when “it would be a good time” to have kids.  Jerrod and I were married for six years before we had Avery.  The waiting was partially due to the fact that I was only 22 when we got married and partially due to wanting to have our ducks all in row before having kids.  We were very deliberate. 

Now that we have our long-awaited family, we often find ourselves daydreaming about all the stuff we would do if we didn’t have kids – trips we would take, sleep to be had, etc.  Yes, we are persnickety ones.  As I was perusing the pantry today, I found myself thinking about how our kids have invaded every aspect of our lives, both physically and emotionally.  The evidence was staring me in the face.  Our pantry used to be a barren wasteland, only containing the usual staples and maybe a box of wheat thins.  Now, our pantry is busting at the seams with the all necessities for a happy childhood – graham crackers, ritz crackers, bunny crackers, bunny graham crackers (is it any wonder Claire can say cracker?), and of course, four kinds of peanut butter (white chocolate, dark chocolate, regular and cinnamon spice, thank you very much).  We frequently bemoan the fact that kid toys are everywhere.  Just from where I am currently sitting, I can see a tub full of princess dolls, a sack full of accessories for Cinderella’s castle, and assorted toys strung about the coffee table.

But when I really stop and think about it, I like it.  I like all of it.  I like glancing over and seeing Claire’s Fisher Price playhouse in the living room.  I like finding a solitary, tiny shoe tucked into the recesses of my closet.  And why wouldn’t I like having four different kinds of peanut butter in the pantry?  The fact of the matter is that when we had time to do all that great stuff – take vacations, etc. – we weren’t maximizing that time.  We lived in a world that, looking back upon it, consisted of sleep, work, eat, repeat.  That’s not to say we didn’t take joy in it and in each other.  But life with children is filled with joyful moments, even the mundane.  You are forced to smile.  You are forced to let things go.  You are forced to feel.  You are forced to think about other people besides yourself.  And you are forced to have a greater appreciation for all the things you had in abundance before you had kids.  A night out can be savored.  Sleeping past 7:00 a.m. feels luxurious.   A meal without a toddler’s chubby hand in your water-glass seems indulgent.  In summary, all the accoutrements that come along with children and that clutter up my house are sweet reminders of how they have changed my life for the better.  Truth be told, I think to myself almost everyday “what will I do when I don’t have a chubby baby to squeeze?”  

But, to be clear, if you want to come watch my kids on Saturday, I would still love to sleep in.

Written by tortsandtots

October 16, 2012 at 9:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

