Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Here’s To You America.

leave a comment »

We celebrated America’s independence the way I’ve celebrated it almost every year of my life – we headed to my hometown and had a parade at a community just outside of town with my extended family.  I’m not sure Claire embraced the parade spirit this year.  She was too young to be a rider, so she observed from the Baby Bjorn.  She did a lot of waving.  AJS, however, is fully appreciative of parades, although I perhaps should have explained the concept to her in more detail.  We rode in a, er, tastefully decorated pickup truck.  After the parade, Avery told me that next year she wanted to ride in a “real” float, not a truck.  I believe she was expecting something with water and literal floating.  Despite the shortcomings of our fake float, Avery did lots of waving, candy throwing, and by her own admission, candy eating.

  We find that, when it comes to patriotic costumes, more is more, a la sequined visor, boa, and fan.

We come by this opinion naturally.  Here are my grandparents and all the great, greats.  Please note, grandparents embrace patriotic garb as well.  It’s genetic.

Did you think that my children would not be wearing matching red, white and blue outfits?  Do you know me at all?

The piece de la resistance, the aforementioned tastefully decorated float.  No, that’s not duct tape on the side.  I don’t know what you’re talking about.

So that was our Fourth in a nutshell.  One last Claire pic for good measure.

 

 

Written by tortsandtots

July 9, 2012 at 9:36 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

