Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

The Day We Met Claire.

with 3 comments

A year ago today, I was hot.  I was grumpy.  I was puffy.  I was oh so pregnant.  Nine months pregnant that is.  I was beyond ready to meet the baby that, since the very beginning of my pregnancy, not one but two doctors had been telling me was going to be early.  As a quick aside, that is a cruel thing to do to a woman.  I heartily do not think doctors should tell women their babies are going to be early unless said babies are holding up signs during ultrasounds that say “I’m thinking I’ll come early.”  I digress.  At my 39 week checkup, the doctor looked at me solemnly and told me she thought I would be back on the checkup table in a week (second cruelest thing a pregnant woman can hear) unless we decided to induce.  And so we did.

Two days before my due date (really your due date, Claire), we checked into the hospital at 5:00 a.m. to meet our long-awaited baby girl.  The day was pretty smooth as childbirth goes.  It was just before noon when the nurse turned me on my side in some sort of magical “make the baby get into position” position.  I talked to my mom and dad who were with Avery about to eat lunch.  I told my dad I was about to take a nap because I was finally comfortable (epidural administered, check) and that I didn’t have anything to report.  I was wrong.  Moments later the nurse said she was getting the doctor because it was time.  I literally gave it two contractions worth of pushing, and there was Claire.  Mere minutes after telling my dad nothing was happening, we welcomed our precious Claire Chandler.

Over the previous few days, as it had become more and more apparent that Claire would not be joining us early, I kept telling Jerrod that I had a sneaking suspicion that she was just in there getting fat.  As soon as the doctor saw Claire, she said “Umm, I think she’s bigger than your last baby.”  She weighed in at a healthy 8 lbs, 1 oz.

The next 24 hours were spent the way that most parents likely spend the first 24 hours with their new babies.  We stared at Claire.  We held Claire.  We proclaimed Claire to be a miracle.  And although nothing unusual likely transpired in that first day together, there was one remarkable component.  Perfect, chubby, angelic Claire.  Just days earlier, our family of three had felt complete.  We had no idea that we had a Claire-shaped void in our life.

So tonight, almost 24 hours before my baby’s first birthday, I remember the day we met Claire.  There was discomfort, there was a bevy of doctors and personnel, there was commotion, and then there was Claire.  A small, squishy person entered the world and changed our lives ones feeding at a time (you ate a lot, Claire, even on your first day of life).  Today, she’s still chubby, still perfect, and a whole lot more.

Written by tortsandtots

June 26, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How very sweet! My son turns 1 on Sunday and this makes me think of the days leading up to his arrival. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Cathy

    June 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

  2. Wait. YOU’RE A BLOGGER?!?! How did I not know this?

    ritaortloff

    September 8, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  3. Ha ha. I am just a baby blogger with a blog that exists for my family and friends.

    tortsandtots

    September 8, 2012 at 10:27 pm


Leave a Reply

