Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

This Girl.

with 2 comments

I have to say, I think three-year-olds get a bad wrap.  Or at the least the three year-old living under my roof does.  So often I find myself shaking my head at what a handful my sweet AJS can be, which is true.  She is busy, she is chatty, she is scheming, and she has demands.  Oh, does she have demands.  It is also much easier to put off a three year-old than an eleven month-old.  I cannot say to Claire “I know you’re hungry, I’ll be with you momentarily.”  Or, “Claire, please quit eating that piece of bark before you choke.”  Claire requires constant, hands-on supervision.  And I can’t help but think that Avery sometimes gets the short end of the stick.  I do not want to think about how many times a day I tell Avery “not right now” or “I have my hands full with Claire.” 

But, at the end of the day, AJS is pretty perfect, and I want to savor this time when she is so purely and sincerely herself.  A time before she has learned how to filter her thoughts before they come out of her mouth (“Mommy, where is that man’s hair?”).  Avery is a creature of habit.  Her order-loving heart craves a routine.  Out of her love of all things routine, we have developed many quirky patterns – things we do over and over again that I don’t even think about anymore.  One thing that is particularly sweet that I want to remember is her “good night things.”  Before her nap and before she goes to bed at night, after I tuck her in, she always tells me her “good night things.”  I say, “Avery, do you want to tell me some night-night stuff?”  I have to say it exactly that way or I get corrected.  And then she says “Night-night, I love you, good night, I love you more than anyone, have a fun time, and be a good girl, Mommy.”  Same exact order each night.  Then she wants me to say “thank you” for the blessings bestowed upon me and wave at her as I leave.  I know that one day this funny routine will fade away as others have.  And I must admit, that sometimes I give this routine an internal eye-roll as it is occurring since it is the last step in a greater bedtime routine, that is equally precisely executed.  But I will miss it when it is gone.

Written by tortsandtots

June 13, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like how you diagnose AJS’s need for control/order. How can you do this so accurately? She’s totally, completely, all you.

    ant gar

    June 14, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    • I don’t know what you’re talking about. I have to go – lots of messy, spontaneous things to do.

      tortsandtots

      June 14, 2012 at 9:28 pm


Leave a Reply

