Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Hope To Cope.

with 2 comments

You might be surprised to know that we are moving.  Different house, same city.  Yes, I realize I haven’t exactly mentioned it, which is because I have basically been acting like it’s not happening.  We just signed all the papers, and yet I sit in my house (old house), which looks remarkably the same as ever, not the dishevelment you would expect on the cusp of moving.  I wouldn’t say that we’re packed and ready to go.  I chalk this all up to my failure to cope. 

I come from a long line of copers.  We plow forward with smiles on our faces, full speed ahead, to address whatever life throws at us.  Admittedly, I am less talented in this department than my predecessors.  My grandmother is a class A coper.  A force to be reckoned with to be sure.  She would have had this place packed up weeks ago.  She would probably be serving dinner in the new house this evening.  I normally lean towards avid coping.  But for some reason, I find the sum of everything overwhelming.  Moving, plus life and its typical trappings, is proving too much to process.  It’s all happy, and yet, I can’t force myself to move forward.

When I allow myself to think about what not coping would be like, it seems decadent.  My not-coping fantasy involves crawling into bed and watching tv.  Not sure where the kids are in that daydream.  Life can be beautiful, but it is also relentless.  There are, unfortunately, no sick days from life.  But, fear not, I have full coping blueprints laid out in my mind.  Packing will commence, it will all happen, and I may even do it all with a smile on my face (no promises, packing makes me grumpy) .  Step one, start mentally coping.  Step two, pack. 

To end on a happy note, here’s a picture of my littlest, future coper and her own coping mechanism.  Sassy-pants.

 

Written by tortsandtots

May 18, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laughing so hard right now for two reasons!

    1) The picture of Zoomie serving a fabulous family dinner the day after moving into a new house. I have no doubt it would be perfect and completely organized.

    2) After recently moving, I am right there with you in the denial process. In fact right now, rather than unpacking and working on our disaster of a house….I am catching up on blogs. Of course, I have mentally been trying to prepare myself to unpack boxes all day (it just hasn’t happened yet!)

    Before our move, I had a picture in my head of an extremely systematic move one box at a time. Today, as I look at all the chaos, I am not really sure how my grand moving plan fell apart? I think it might be throwing 2 small children in the mix? Good luck with your move!

    Jennifer

    May 18, 2012 at 4:21 pm

  2. Packing with children is a nightmare. It’s probably even worse for you because both of your kids are highly mobile and on the move. At least Claire is somewhat containable. Although these days I mostly see her tail as she leaves the room. Can’t wait to see your house with all your stuff in it!

    tortsandtots

    May 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm


Leave a Reply

