Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Cousins, Two Of A Kind.

with 4 comments

Avery and her cousin, Katee.  Does anyone else start to sing the theme song to the Patty Duke Show when they say “cousins”?  Nick-At-Night?  Anyone?  I digress.

When I was a kid, a lot of my extended family lived in my hometown.  I saw my grandparents everyday.  I had three cousins that were all within three years of my age that I saw weekly for many years and then saw daily when we went to high school together.  I didn’t give it much thought then, but now I know that growing up with all that family around was a luxury.

Not a single member of our family lives in our current city.  Before having children, I hadn’t given it much thought.  Having family in town would be nice on many practical levels – having an emergency phone call, for example, or just having a sanity check from time to time.  The thing my heart really aches over is not having the routine presence of extended family in the girls’ lives.  The more people around to love your children, the better.  Period.  There’s no substitute for the unconditional love provided by family.  There’s something so poignant and needed about having the people you love around to love your children.

Which brings me to the main point of this post.  [Have you noticed I always need a long lead-in to get to my main point?  I suppose I truly am destined to be a lawyer.]  It did my heart an extreme amount of good to see Avery playing with her sweet cousin, Katee, while we were visiting Jerrod’s parents last weekend.  These girls were born just seven weeks apart, and Avery likes nothing better than uninterrupted time with her cousin, especially when they can run wild all over their grandparents’ land.  When I asked AJS what her favorite part of her visit was, she said “Katee.  She’s my friend.  I love her.”  Cue the instant melting of my heart.  When watching these two, I can’t help but think of running all over my grandparents’ backyard with my own cousins when we were kids.  There was nothing I loved more than that time.  And, again, I had no idea how lucky I was to have access to them so constantly. 

Being the same age and gender, they have all the important things in common.  And most importantly, they both like to chase chickens.

Written by tortsandtots

May 16, 2012 at 10:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a childhood friend of Scott and Jerrod (Linda was my babysitter, and my favorite person after my own mom), it is delightful to see that their girls are such good friends. Both are adorable, and their connection is a lot more plausible than Patty and Cathy being ‘identical’ cousins (loved that show! Loved Nick At Nite!) 🙂

    misswoodhouse

    May 16, 2012 at 10:34 am

    • Well, you’re very sweet. I can totally understand your love of Linda – our kids feel the exact same way. She’s great with kids, and I’m sure you can imagine how wonderful she is with her own grandchildren!

      tortsandtots

      May 16, 2012 at 12:48 pm

  2. Ah, the Patty Duke Show. Cousins, identical cousins. My mom used to make me watch it with her as punishment when I missed curfew. I saw a sign the other day that is so true: “Grandma’s House: Where cousins go to become best friends.”

    Jill

    May 18, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    • That is so true! The saying on the sign that is.

      tortsandtots

      May 21, 2012 at 10:15 am


Leave a Reply

