Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

The End of Humankind As We Know It. Or, Candied Bacon.

with 2 comments

Monday.  You again?  The only thing getting me through today is a little leftover candied bacon.  This weekend, I had a sip and see for one of my friends.  At almost every shower I have that is in the a.m., I serve candied bacon.  Yes, I am a terrible person and am trying to single-handedly bring down humankind, one serving of pork-fat-drenched-in-sugar at a time.  But here is the beauty of showers and such, you only have to have a nibble (no one ever only has a nibble, especially not me).  In addition to the guilt induced by the clogging of my guests’ arteries, I then also have a smidge of guilt because everyone oohs and aahs and wants the recipe, and it is the easiest thing ever.  So here it is in all its glory – candied bacon.  The recipe that got me started on this many years ago is here.

You will need:

  • 1 lb of bacon.  As an experiment, this time I did half thick cut bacon and half regular.  The thick cut was pretty amazing, but the regular is, too.
  • 1 cup of brown sugar per lb of bacon.  I’m pretty sure I use more than this.  I just dump brown sugar in my bowl and refill as needed.

Two ingredients?  How easy is that?

Line a jelly roll pan with tin foil.  Then set a cooling rack into the jelly roll pan.  I put brown sugar in a bowl with a broad, flat bottom (so many jokes, so little time).  Next I take each slice of bacon and immerse in the sugar, trying to rub as much sugar into the bacon as possible.  Lastly, I put each piece of bacon on my cooling rack-jelly roll pan combo.  After I place each slice on the rack, I typically sprinkle more brown sugar over each piece and then pat it down.

After I fill the rack, I bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  My oven cooks hot, and I usually bake at least 25 minutes.  The bacon is done when the sugar is bubbly and the edges look crispy.  Even if you don’t like your regular bacon crispy, I think the candied bacon is best crispy.  I also think it’s best made a few hours ahead because it should be served at room temperature and a few hours gives it time to harden up like candy.  Once it has hardened, I break each piece into halves or thirds, depending on the size of the bacon.  For a group of 20, I would typically make two pounds of bacon, especially for a group of women.  They (we) can put it down.  Here’s a (blurry) pic of what it looks like directly out of the oven.

Go forth, candy your bacon, and fall into a sticky food stupor.  I’ll be de-bacon-greasing my kitchen if you need me.

Written by tortsandtots

May 7, 2012 at 10:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This candy bacon, is a gift from from the Lord. I’m almost positive He had this at the last supper. Love it! And although you are already a special friend you will forever be in my heart for Sharing this gift we call candy bacon. 😉

    Pamm

    May 7, 2012 at 10:31 am

    • You are the funniest. Clearly I share your enthusiasm. And on a sidenote, I’m glad you’re not moving to Dubai.

      tortsandtots

      May 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm


Leave a Reply

