Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

A Song For Claire.

with 4 comments

Dear Claire,

Did you know that we have a song? Well, we do. When I walk you at night before bed, we like to sing a few bars of Frankie Valli’s “Can’t Take My Eyes Of Of You.”  It sounds a little creepy when I describe the song by name, but we focus on the chorus, the “I love you, baby” part, naturally.  Not the most modern song, true.  But you are nine months old, so we try to keep your music selection G-rated.   I’m telling you this because I feel like someday we might both want to remember. There might be a day when you think you’re grown up and don’t need me but you really do and you want to channel me.  Or there might be a day when you really are grown up and don’t need me and I want to channel you.  On those days, I may need to listen to our song, and hopefully I will be able to see your chubby, solemn, tired face staring at me, just the way it was last night before bed.  Because (if it’s quite all right) I need you, baby.

Love,

Mom

Written by tortsandtots

April 22, 2012 at 8:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. She will love to read this letter from mom when she is older. Made me cry.

    Jill

    April 23, 2012 at 8:10 am

  2. This is making me think of when Ryan was a little guy and would sing “You Are My Sunshine.”

    tortsandtots

    April 23, 2012 at 8:27 am

    • His eyes tear up when I sing that song to him now. When that happens, I can see that he doesn’t understand his reaction. Somewhere in his little mind, he knows….he remembers.

      Jill

      April 26, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  3. Stop it. It’s too precious. He’s such a sensitive little soul wrapped up in a kid exterior.

    tortsandtots

    April 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm


Leave a Reply

