Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Cheat Sheet: The Second Baby Gift

with 3 comments

It seems like special events in our friends’ lives come in waves.  We have summers that are packed full of weddings, and there have been years that someone has a new baby almost every month.  And then there’s the most recent event in both our lives and our friends’ lives – the second baby.  This particular wave is making me feel a little old.  But it’s true.  Just yesterday I purchased two baby gifts for second babies.  Gifts for the second (or third or fourth) baby are somewhat unchartered territory.  For first babies, it’s all there for you in a neatly packaged baby registry.  But the second baby?  You’re almost always on your own.  I actually like it.  I enjoy having some room to be creative and thoughtful and try to get something my friends are really going to love.  I can’t speak as to what everyone likes to get, but here are a few notes about my favorite presents when we had Claire.

Clothes.  I think that clothes are always a safe bet for baby #2.  If, like me, your children are the same gender, it’s nice to get a few fresh items.  I barely bought any new clothes for Claire, so it was fun to receive some new outfits to mix in with Avery’s hand-me-downs.  If you have kids of two different genders, clothes are necessary since the new mom will be starting from scratch.  One thing I enjoy about giving clothes as a gift is that I can splurge since I’m normally just buying one or two outfits.  A few brands I like for newborns – Kissy Kissy, LeTop, and Zutano.  Also, my absolute favorite to give and receive is Hanna Andersson pajamas. 

Blankets/Burp Cloths.  One of my favorite things I received when we had Claire was these muslin baby blankets and burp cloths.  For one thing, our burp cloths from Avery were a bit, ahem, gross.  Also, we are big swaddlers (it’s possible that we swaddled Claire until she was seven months), and the swaddle blankets that are available now are better than the ones when we had Avery.  These blankets were the perfect weight for swaddling without making our little one too hot.  Plus, they’re all super cute.

Novelty Item.  Similar to the clothes suggestion, unlike when we had Avery, when we had Claire, we weren’t buying many “just for fun” items.  We were all business – diapers, bottles, etc.  So I loved receiving some special books and toys just for Claire.  A slight disclaimer, some moms don’t want anymore stuff.  By the time baby #2 rolls around, there’s a lot of kid stuff around.  But I enjoyed having a few sweet items that were just for Claire.  I especially loved this book and this one, too.

The Old Standby.  If in doubt, there are two gifts that never disappoint – diapers and food.  Every family is somewhat in survival mode when a new addition arrives.  So food is always appreciated.  And when Claire was born, she literally went through 10-12 diapers a day.  So diapers are needed. 

So there are my thoughts in nutshell.  I know many moms read the blog, so weigh in on your favorites in the comments section.

Written by tortsandtots

April 17, 2012 at 8:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Avery kind of makes you look like a giant. I can’t imagine how large Brook would look.

    ant gar

    April 19, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    • I know. This growth spurt of hers has left us all puzzled. She’s growing up so fast. Brook, that is.

      tortsandtots

      April 20, 2012 at 8:52 am

      • I just looked for a “like” button. Silly me.

        ant gar

        April 20, 2012 at 4:55 pm


Leave a Reply

