Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Are You There, Claire? It’s Me, Mom.

with 3 comments

Claire, it’s your mom.  You know – the person who feeds you five bottles a day, pre-mushes your bananas before inserting them into your mouth, lets you rake your spitty hand across my face and thinks you’re the ideal baby even when you’re grumpy.  You are now nine months old, and I know what is coming – the big 0-1.  And one-year-old is truly the beginning of the end, the beginning of the end your babydom.  At one-year, you will start the slow slide out of babydom, and by two, all I will have left is maybe some slightly fat, baby cheeks.  I have asked you before, and I will ask you again – can’t you put the brakes on?  To me, you are perfection.  I know I endlessly wax poetic about the chubbiness of your legs.  You’re probably embarrassed.  But to me, those chubby stems (or are they trunks?) are so exactly symbolic of your guileless, squishy, content baby-ness.  At some point, I will resign myself to fate and move into acceptance that you can’t be a baby forever.  Until that day, I will continue to revel in sweet, baby YOU (and probably smell your head in an attempt to memorialize your baby smell a creepy amount of times)!

Claire, at nine months you are

  • Crawling at a rapid pace and exploring every nook and cranny of our house, including behind the toilet (don’t worry I removed you), in the pantry, on the dog-beds, and under the coffee table;
  • Playing side-by-side with your big sister, which is very gratifying for this mama to see;
  • Weighing in at a slim 19.5 pounds;
  • Saying “mamamama,” “dadadada,” and “bububu” for “bye-bye”;
  • Waving (inexplicably cute), clapping (be still my heart), and bopping Avery on the head (not appreciated by AJS);
  • Pulling up to stand on every surface within reach;
  • Playing games of peekaboo with your dad;
  • Crawling over to any blanket left on the ground for a spontaneous cuddle; and
  • Starting to eat table food with slight skepticism.

Claire, you are a joy, and we thank God for you.

Written by tortsandtots

March 30, 2012 at 9:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jamine: I love reading and seeing your blog. it takes me back 14 years to when travis was still chubby cute and cudley instead of stringy, rangey and gamey. It is so great to know that you are valuing and enjoying every minute. I did too… and it is over so quickly.. to quickly. Now all travis says to me is “whuts for dinner?” love, carol

    Carol

    March 30, 2012 at 9:37 am

  2. oops i mispelled your name… I meant Jamie

    Carol

    March 30, 2012 at 9:37 am

  3. Carol – I’m so happy you read! I remember tiny, blue-eyed, droll Travis as a baby, and he was precious. I also remember the Travis of “I hate art” days. Sigh – it goes so fast! Hopefully we will be in TX soon at the same time. Love and miss you and your boys!

    tortsandtots

    April 1, 2012 at 8:48 am


Leave a Reply

