Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Avery-isms.

leave a comment »

Avery says things on an hourly basis that make me laugh.  Some of these would not be amusing coming from an adult, but are hilarious (to me at least) from the mouth of a three year old.  So here’s a quick rundown of her recent quotes ‘n quips.

“For my next birthday party, I want a Prince Charming party because he is really handsome.”  On a sidenote, I object to this one since it seems like we just finished cleaning up from her third birthday party.

“I asked Claire if she wanted me to share this toy with her, but she is not answering me.”  Convenient.

“I think Claire is almost grown up now.”  Seems unlikely.

“My mom ripped your top, Cinderella, but we can pretend that it’s okay.”  I must admit, I did rip Cinderella’s top.  Clearly, we don’t let anything slide around our house.

“Have a good nap, mommy.”  She says this to me almost daily when I put her down for her nap.  I think it makes her feel better to think that I am taking a nap, too.  And, no, I didn’t tell her that.

“Do you remember yesterday when I was two?”  This is the lead-in to many different conversations about things we did when she two.  As for the “yesterday” part, everything in the past is “yesterday” to her.

“I’m going to go to the zoo with Lily while you do your homework, mommy.”  She told me this one just this week as she was leaving with her nanny.  I guess she thinks my job is homework?  No idea.

“When I grow up, I want to be a mommy and have a baby of my own and name her Belle.”  Hopefully she will make some stops along the way, college (boomer), job (POTUS?), etc.  Lucky little Baby Belle.

She’s also constantly using words she’s heard in books that take my by surprise, e.g., “Cinderella exclaimed . . . ”  A few months back she told me she was going “to dine al fresco” when we were preparing for a picnic.  That is a direct Fancy Nancy reflection – parents of daughters, you know what I’m talking about.  Hearing what Avery has to say makes me excited to hear what’s on Claire’s mind, although I have learned that these somewhat silent baby days can be golden (like when Avery tells me her dinner is “gross”).

Written by tortsandtots

February 8, 2012 at 11:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

