Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Cute, Crawling Claire.

with 2 comments

We have been so swept up in the daily whirr of life that I have neglected to mention a few milestones in little CCS’s life.  This never would have happened with Avery.  When Avery was a baby (and a toddler, and a kid), we documented every breath that came from her mouth and likely publicized it.  Avery rolled from back to front? Call the press.  Avery rolled from front to back?  Perhaps a celebratory dinner is in order.  Avery looked at me adoringly?  Let’s get that baby a new toy.  We never would have delayed to tell you about a milestone in Avery’s life.  Ah the plight of the second child, Claire.  It’s not that we love you less (what’s not to love?) – we love you just as intensely but filtered through a veil of fatigue. 

Back to to the big news.  Claire is crawling.  In the midst of my crazy work schedule over the past few weeks, Claire transitioned from furious scooting to bona fide crawling.  Fortunately for this mamma’s fragile heart, she made this transition on a Saturday, right in front of my face.  She has been on the brink since well before Christmas – rocking frantically, belly crawling across The Blanket.  I cajoled, sweet-talked, and incentivized the hooey (and yes, “hooey” is a technical term) out of that baby to get her to do it, but she was having none of it.  

And just in case you’re thinking what I was thinking, I basically made Jerrod sign a sworn affidavit that she had not secretly started crawling during the week while I was gone.  Although if he was ever going to perjure himself, this might have been worth it because I think he could sense that I might not handle it well if my precious baby finally started to crawl while I was away.  Nothing can ever be sweeter than having a front row seat to my babies’ milestones and picking them up and kissing their chubby faces, aglow with accomplishment.   So Claire has checked another box off of her “to do” list, and I have logged another memory into our shared mommy-Claire history. 

Written by tortsandtots

February 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah. So. I’ve been crawling like forever. But those are great pictures.

    ant gar

    February 7, 2012 at 5:24 pm

  2. I’ve seen you crawl. Color me unimpressed.

    tortsandtots

    February 7, 2012 at 7:01 pm


Leave a Reply

