Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Here’s to You, T.

leave a comment »

My friend, T, recently asked a bunch of her mom friends to send her our favorite recipes that met the following criteria: (1) meals that adults and kids both like, and (2) meals that can either be prepared ahead of time and heated/cooked before dinner time or that can  be prepared in 30-45 minutes.  She’s planning on compiling two-weeks worth of dinners and rotating through them.  What a great idea T.  I decided that if I’m compiling them for her, I might as well give them to you, too. 

As a side note, I think that pinterest is a great menu-planning resource.  I read a lot of food blogs, and I can just pin what I’m interested in and then review over the weekend as I am planning my weekly menu.  So helpful.

Here are a few of my winter favorites.

Mega Meatball Pizza

I haven’t made this recipe yet this winter, but this has been a staple in our household for years, even pre-dating children.  I think I originally pulled it because Jerrod loves pizza and this is an easy make at home pizza using store bought dough.  I’ve also manipulated this recipe over the years, adding more veggies, different cheese, etc.  I just noticed this is a Rachel Ray recipe.  I don’t generally gravitate towards her recipes, but we love this one.

Hearty Chicken Stew

Here’s Dave Lieberman’s recipe for chicken stew.  When I worked full time, Jerrod tookover a lot of the cooking at dinnertime.  Poor guy, he was probably starving.  He found this chicken stew recipe, and it’s been in the file ever since.  To cut back on the prep time, you can make the broth ahead of time and just add the veggies right before dinner.

Chicken Chili with Hominy

Oh how I wish I had a link for this one, but no such luck.  Although I pulled this recipe from food network’s webpage many years ago, I can’t find it.  So here you go.  I’ve made this many, many times.  Because I am lazy , I omit the tortillas from this recipe which makes a less thick chili.  But I make cornbread and serve it with that, which in my mind makes up for it. 

Place a tortilla directly on stovetop burner set on medium-low and toast, turning with tongs, until light golden and fragrants, 30-60 seconds.  Repeat with 3 more tortillas.  Cut tortillas into 1-inch-wide strips and set aside.

Season 12 ounces of boneless skinless chicken breasts, trimmed and cut into 3/4-inch chunks, with salt and pepper.  Heat 1/2 tablespoon olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add chicken and cook, stirring often until lightly browned, 2-3 minutes.  Transfer to a plate.

Add remaining 1/2 tablespoon olive oil to pan.  Add 2 small, red bell peppers, seeded and diced, and one large, chopped, white onion.  Season with salt and pepper and cooking, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes.  Add 1, 4 ounce can chopped green chiles, 3 cloves minced garlic, 1 tablespoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon ground cumin, and 1 teaspoon dried oregano.  Cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Add 14 ounces reduced sodium chicken broth and 2 cups low fat milk and brink to a simmer, stirring.  Stir in reserved chicken, tortilla strips, and 2, 15-ounce cans of white hominy.  Reduce heat to low.  Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until chicken is cooked through and chili has thickened, about 20 minutes.  Sitr in 1/4 cup cilantro.  Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.  Serve with cilantro and lime wedges.

Kaitlyn’s Easy Chicken and Rice Stir Fry

So, as a preliminary note, I have no idea who Kaitlyn is.  My mom sent this recipe to me when I was first learning how to cook, and I’ve kept it all these years.  It’s just your basic stiry fry recipe, but therein lies the beauty.  You can alter it to accomodate whatever veggies, meat, rice you have on hand.  Thank you Kaitlyn, whoever you are.

Heat one tablespoon sesame oil in a large, heavy duty pan or wok.  Add 4 cups fresh veggies (1 cup each of 4 different veggies) and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes on high.  Lots of moisture will come out – let it boil off and the veggies will start to brown.  Push veggies to side, add 2 tablespoons of sesame oil.  Add 2 cups bonless, skinless chicken breast pieces (half a pound or so), cook, stirring, about 5 minutes, mixing the veggies back in as the chicken cooks.  Push the veggies and chicken to the side of the pan, leaving a space in the middle.  Break an egg into a small bowl, whisk until smooth, then pour into the center of the pan, making sure it doesn’t touch the veggies.  Scramble the egg, stirring until cooked and in small pieces.  Add  2 cups cold, cooked rice, cook, stirring, just until rice is heated through, about 2-3 minutes.  Season with 2-3 tablespoons soy sauce to taste, stir and serve.  (I sometimes season with teriyaki instead of soy or a soy-teriyaki mix.  Kids (my kid) like teriyaki better.)

Written by tortsandtots

December 31, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

