Torts & Tots

Motherhood. Lawyer-dom. And maybe a few nice recipes.

Things I’m Obsessed With This Week

leave a comment »

Here are a few things that I have enjoyed this week, and a few others I’ve been daydreaming about.

It’s a plaid, plaid world.  This Christmas season, I’ve been mad for plaid.  I’m mostly focused on Christmas plaid, but I also like the color palette in this jacket for something a little different.  For a more affordable option, I am into this plaid blouse from Zara.

If I only I could talk Jerrod into it, I’m crazy about this plaid men’s shirt.  But I am guessing I would have more luck with something along the lines of this tie.

And please do not think that my children are immune from my plaid craze.  Avery already has these.

And here is a pic from today.  I love this CW Kids plaid romper.  It was a tad too school girl uniform-ish, so we paired it with some Hanna Andersson tights and glitter Toms for a bit o’ kick.  Because a little plaid goes a long way, a discreet splash of plaid for Claire.

I have visions of a perfect, plaid family dancing in my head.

The return of the Friday lunch.  Before we had children, Saturday night was date night, so Saturday night dinner was our thing.  With Claire’s 7:00/7:30 bedtime, dinners out are obsolete in our household.  Before Claire was born, we had begun having Friday lunch out together.  And although it has been slightly derailed since Claire’s arrival, Friday lunch is starting to re-emerge as a weekly tradition.  Pictoral evidence below.

Classic Tomato Basil.  When we lived in Dallas, I, along with every other soup-lover, enjoyed having tomato basil here.  Now that the cold weather is creeping in, I’m craving a bit of comfort in a cup.  I had tomato basil today at Friday lunch, and I also made some this week for dinner, which leads me to my next obsession.

Crock Pot Cooking.  I’ve always been somewhat resistant to the idea of crock pot cooking.  I’m not sure why, but I think it is because it feels like cheating.  I’m somewhat old school when it comes to cooking, and I enjoy doing things the hard way.  There’s something soothing about the process.  But as I do not have ample cooking time, my more complex recipes will have to stay in the file.  In the meantime, I am trying to embrace crock pot cooking and have been enjoying the results.  This week I made this tomato basil soup recipe in my crockpot.  I replaced the cream with milk, and I used my favorite new grocery store find for the basil.  This recipe for slow cooker fajitas is currently in the works.  Of course, it will not be the traditional sizzling platter of fajitas but hopefully will yield good results.  I have a few more crock pot recipes pinned on Pinterest, so this is a developing story.

Holiday Baking.  When I was in law school, I baked to relieve stress, which meant I baked all the time.  Having a baby put many pastimes on hold.  I commented to Jerrod this week that things must be getting back to normal because I have the desire to bake again.  Isn’t this how everyone measures normalcy?  I made this recipe for gingerbread heads from Bakerella (love) this week, and I have plans for these pumpkins cookies over the weekend.

I could go on and on (clearly), but I will stop here.  And here is a pic of my all-time favorite obsessions.

Written by tortsandtots

December 16, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

